Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
guymcc
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: No

Rear axle leaking into drums

Post by guymcc »

My rear axle is leaking oil in to the offside drum, i've had a look at it and being a novice i'm wondering what is required to fix the problem. I am looking at getting a kit, which includes the bearing, oil seal, o-ring and gasket, but i'm not too sure if I need the bearing and oil seal. I was thinking about only getting the o-ring and the gasket, as someone mentioned to me on a previous thread of mine.

Oh and the hub nut has previously been taken off by what looks like a chisel and hammer method, so should i get this replaced? I don't currently have a tool which fits this.
TIA of your help! I need it! :D
May thanks!!! :D
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Re: Rear axle leaking into drums

Post by bmcecosse »

Most have been chiseled - it does no harm - but if bothered you can clean up the nut with a few strokes of a file! Unless the bearing feels worn (is there any play?) just fit new seal +O ring + gasket.
ImageImage
guymcc
Minor Fan

Post by guymcc »

cheers for that,

I don't think there is any play. So i'll just go with what you suggested.
I'll get some new axle fluid while I'm at it!
:D
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »

EP 90 for that axle fluid - but make sure it's not overfilled, and the breather on the diff casing is clear - not blocked.
ImageImage
mrsnak
Minor Fan

Post by mrsnak »

bmcecosse wrote:EP 90 for that axle fluid - but make sure it's not overfilled, and the breather on the diff casing is clear - not blocked.
Hijacking this thread for a second. Just changed the fluid in the rear axle of my 61 pickup. Is the fill hole cap the same thing as a breather. Mine does not look like it vents. It's slotted at the top (Screwdriver slot?), smooth round on the sides, but the thread is bored through. Where on that cap does it vent through?