Engine Swap

Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Rustydog01
MMOC Member: No

Engine Swap

Post by Rustydog01 »

A topic that has probably been done to death,but having just moved & our restoration project is in our barn in West Wales , starting to think about what engine to use. I Have a lot of experience with the "A" series having raced minis for years & own a highly modified 1972 mini.

The venerable "A" series in 1275 format is simple, reliable & good for reasonable power looks reasonable original but the costs are high to get good power now.

So I was thinking of Ford Duratec/Zetec or the K series , which will all fit with some modifications

or has anybody done a moggy with the 3 cylinder Ford engine ? no doubt there will be an adapter plate to a Ford type 9 gearbox, Its a small engine which can produce more than enough power, as we want to end up with a classic car that will keep up with traffic, and will be reliable .

Anybody got any thoughts or experience with the 3 cylinder engine.
oliver90owner
Minor Legend

Re: Engine Swap

Post by oliver90owner »

Is this the ford 3 cylinder with wet timing belt? No experience, but reports say prone to failure big time. If it is, it is one to avoid like the plague!
Rustydog01

Post by Rustydog01 »

Good point, as these engines are coming upto to 10 years old in theory the belt should be ok for 10 years but they are failing prematurely most likely due to wrong oil being used, but it's not a big issue to change the belt with engine on the bench, any engine that I would use I would give a freshen up belts/chains pumps etc.
philipkearney
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by philipkearney »

I don't know anything about the car but there's a convertible currently for sale on eBay with 2.0 zetec conversion. May be worth asking for more details and photos?
IMG_0070.PNG
IMG_0070.PNG (3.42 MiB) Viewed 1839 times
oliver90owner
Minor Legend