Discuss anything Morris Minor related.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
SGMajorMinor
MMOC Member: No

Can You Retrofit a Split Screen?

Post by SGMajorMinor »

Hi

I am new to the scene but have always wanted to own a Morris Minor and I am now determined to do so. The car I'm thinking of buying is a 1968 Minor. It's in perfect condition and meets all my requirements. There is just one thing; being a 1968 it has a one-piece screen, but I have always wanted a slit screen. The split screen cars I've seen for sale are not in the same condition as the 1968, so I am wondering if a split screen could be fitted to it? I realise than some people would think this is a terrible thing to do, but I really want a split screen Minor and may have wait a long time before a good one comes up, so can I have a split screen fitted? Is the window shape on a 1968 the same as a genuine split screen?

Thanks.
ManyMinors
Minor Legend

Re: Can You Retrofit a Split Screen?

Post by ManyMinors »

It would be MAJOR surgery. Completely different roof and pillars, different dashboard, different bonnet - plus, you'll probably never get the windscreen to seal up if my experiences of split-screen Minors is anything to go by!

If you really want a split screen car, just go out and buy one. They are not THAT rare and I have seen two really lovely ones advertised in the last week or so. Bear in mind though that they are quite a bit older and not as well equipped as a Minor 1000 which frankly makes a much better practical proposition - certainly for regular use. :wink:
Steve Phillips
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by Steve Phillips »

If you are really want the appearance of a split screen on your car then instead of trying to find a split screen shell to cut up you could create your own,