Discuss Electrical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
mamodesen
MMOC Member: No

lt lead dizzy

Post by mamodesen »

Evening ladies and gents

Quick question, I'm hoping to get the answer to.

Is there any issue replacing the braided LT wire inside the dizzy with a non-braided, plastic insulated wire. Cant see a difference, but I'm not an electrician

don't think it matters, but she's a 1958 convertible, pos earth, 948cc, dm2 dizzy

thanks in advance
myoldjalopy
Minor Legend
MMOC Member: Yes

Re: lt lead dizzy

Post by myoldjalopy »

No, it will be fine. In fact, I did this recently as the old braided wire was hanging on by a few threads at one end! :o
oliver90owner
Minor Legend

Post by oliver90owner »

Do remember that the points move as the timing changes. Too stiff may impeded that action. Too much flexing of a solid conductor may lead to fracture. They didn’t use a braided wire for no good reason. A multi stranded wire could be OK, if you take on board the above.
mamodesen

Post by mamodesen »

myoldjalopy wrote: Sun Jun 11, 2023 8:33 pm No, it will be fine. In fact, I did this recently as the old braided wire was hanging on by a few threads at one end! :o
its been sat in a garage for 30 odd years, so prob original and so much of the braiding has just disintegrated
oliver90owner wrote: Sun Jun 11, 2023 9:09 pm Do remember that the points move as the timing changes. Too stiff may impeded that action. Too much flexing of a solid conductor may lead to fracture. They didn’t use a braided wire for no good reason. A multi stranded wire could be OK, if you take on board the above.
I did consider this, but they're on that thread independently and with the nut tightened can't see how that wouldn't be more of an issue of impeding the arm. And surly the movement of the points is in the metal arm bending and not it moving on that thread and in turn moving the wire, especially with the nut tightened?