Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
Slartibartfast
MMOC Member: No

Flywheel sizes

Post by Slartibartfast »

Hello everyone, this is my first time here, and my first post :D

I am a marine engineer, living in France, who has spent far too much time and money playing with Land Rovers. I am now in the process of repairing a 1956 M-M (my first M-M) for a friend. The starter ring was completely knackered and I asked her to buy another based on the year and 803. When it turned up it was too small in diameter by about about 4mm. The OD of the flywheel where the ring sits is 236.6mm, the ID of the ring is 232.5mm. My question is this : Can anyone tell me what is the correct part number for a starter ring that is suitable for the flywheel so that I can get one ordered.

Thanks in advance
Slartibartfast

Re: Flywheel sizes

Post by Slartibartfast »

So at the same time as I posted here, I sent an e-mail to Moss and they have kindly provided the following :

The 12G290 ring gear for the 1098cc engine has the following specs.

NUMBER OF TEETH = 104
I/D = 235.70/235.90 MM
O/D 264.90/265.40 MM
THICKNESS = 12.60/13.10 MM
CHAMFER = LH CUT 45 DEGREES
NON ENGAGE STEP 236+/-0.05 MM
STEP THICKNESS 4MM

I hope this might be of use to someone in the future.

According to the V5 it's an 803, but now I'm not so sure seeing as the engine serial does not match the V5 either.
les
Minor Maniac
MMOC Member: Yes

Post by les »

Quite a comprehensive specification they have provided, thanks for forwarding, as you say it may be useful to someone.

philthehill
Minor Maniac

Post by philthehill »

A photo of the distributer side of the engine would be helpful.
The 803cc engine has the oil filter element screwed directly to the block. The 948cc and 1098cc engines have the oil filter attached to the block by a separate housing.
If your engine is indeed 803cc this is the flywheel ring gear you will need.