Running rich but stuttering (and stinks!)

Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
PhilipW1039
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: Yes

Running rich but stuttering (and stinks!)

Post by PhilipW1039 »

To all you old timers who really know what you're doing, I wonder if I could ask for your help please? I'm a beginner and on a VERY steep learning curve so although I've read a lot, I don't know what I don't know.

I bought my '68 traveller 3 weeks ago. Ran fine, but rich (black exhaust and plugs). The head showed signs of an oil leak so I replaced the head gasket set and fitted the Grumpy stabiliser kit while there. Also new plugs, gapped to 25, and the head was skimmed 6 thou. I didn't adjust anything else and torqued all nuts as per manual.

Stupidly, I tried resetting the jet adjuster nut to the 12 flats undone, as per a post on here, in an effort to address the rich running. Since then, it stutters both at idle and at speed, even cruising at 40-50, though is worst at slower speeds in second. I've done the following:

- backed off the adjuster nut further, which has improved but not yet solved
- raised the piston lifting pin, which has no resistance for the first 6-8mm but then kills the engine
- fixed 70% of the blowing from the manifold-downpipe clamp. Waiting on cement for the rest.
- fitted new HT leads, distributor cap and rotor arm
- checked leads are 1,3,4,2, anti-clock as per post from BMCEcosse
- checked that the choke reduces revs when it goes back in, but not actually checked at the jet

The fact that it runs rich but absolutely stinks of petrol at the exhaust, is really confusing me. I'm reluctant to back the nut off any further as that seems wrong? I have an electronic ignition kit to fit, with the recommended sport coil, and am considering a carb service kit and replacement needle, but I'm working through replacing things with really only guesswork.