Discuss mechanical problems here.
Forum rules
By using this site, you agree to our rules. Please see: Terms of Use
peetee59
Minor Fan
MMOC Member: No

oil leak

Post by peetee59 »

I am new to this forum,brought my little moggy all the way from scotland,no problem,now i find there is an oil leak.I am a competent spray painter but mechanically have,only basic knowledge.This maybe a silly question ,but is there any area its likely to come from,any help woould be greatly appreciated.# Pete :cry:
PSL184
Minor Legend

Re: oil leak

Post by PSL184 »

It can come from anywhere there is oil in the car, ie engine, gearbox, back axle - Give us a clue of the general area and we'll go from there....
[sig]8426[/sig]

Compare the Minors - Simples !! http://mog.myfreeforum.org/index.php
bmcecosse
Minor Maniac

Post by bmcecosse »

They all leak to a degree.....tell us where it's coming from -and roughly how much ??
ImageImage
oddbod
Minor Fan

Post by oddbod »

Welcome to the forum Pete,and the wonderful world of Moggies :D Most stuff is simple,a manual helps but never gives all the detail. Loads of good advice on here,and if you want to know what NOT to do,just ask,I've probably messed it up myself already.Where are you at the moment?
peetee59
Minor Fan

Post by peetee59 »

Thankyou so much for your comments,it is coming from the front end only,just checked,just at the back of the sump there is around a tablespoon of oil collected on a plastic bag i put there.Then about a foot or so behind the sump to the rear (near cross member) there is a patch of oil ,but its just spread and not puddled.I am going to respray the car in (teal blue) would that be right for a 1967 saloon,however i need to sort this leak out first.I have to say i love moggys,i am 60 this year and always promised myself i would treat myself one day,and this is solid ,but in need of some attention to the body to make her look great again.Please ,please help me.I used to have one in black back in 1973,lovely cars